Musical Adventure-Overtones

piano stingsSo I’ve begun my new musical adventure as a music student at university, I’m very excited to share my new discoveries with you. This week in my classical theory class we talked about overtones. I had never heard of the term before but the concept is quite exciting. A certain pitch is created by something vibrating so fast we perceive it as one note e.g piano strings. But because of this the vibrations produce overtones which means there are different notes within one single note!! My teacher demonstrated this by playing on a piano, a G on the top of the bass clef staff allowing us to get the pitch into our heads then he proceeded to play a C below the bass clef staff and when you let the note ring out you could hear the G in the C! My mind was blown.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

